“Pride Puds”, Rainbows, & Time to Change

More than just a sightseeing bus: York Pride, 20 June 2015

More than a sightseeing bus: York Pride, 20 June 2015

Today is the Summer Solstice: a day that has tremendous personal, as well as spiritual, significance. This year, it’s also Father’s Day, and the day after my first York Pride.

Subjects like the many Pride events taking part across Britain this summer, and LGBT in general, are sadly not a subject I would have felt comfortable discussing with my late, much loved father in law. Nor can I imagine discussing such matters with my own father, who is still alive, in his 90s.

But the times, they are a changin’: in many ways, for the better. And Pride events, such as the one in York – a city already filled with so many wonderful memories – is a colourful, and above all good natured example of this.

Those who know how important Doctor Who is to me will understand I mean no disrespect by saying that the enjoyment and creativity displayed at York Pride in some ways reminded me of the Doctor Who and other sci fi cons I attended in the States, many years ago.

Speaking of creativity, and in case you’re wondering what a “Pride Pud” is:

A basket full of Pride Puds: all proceeds to York Mind!

A basket full of Pride Puds: all proceeds to York Mind!

As for creativity, and colour, well: I could fill the rest of this page with photos of beautiful, colourful, friendly people. People who, depending on age and / or circumstances, know all too well how much pain, and struggle, had to take place before events such as this could become regular, popular parts of the summer festival circuit.

The fabulous staff at the Cancer Research tombola. (No, I didn't win anything.)

The fabulous staff at the Cancer Research tombola. (No, I didn’t win anything.)

As the people at the Amnesty International stand could attest, the struggle for LGBT rights continues. Worldwide, people are dying because of their sexuality.

Sadly, even in the UK, people from the LGBT community are more likely to have mental health problems. Because as much as we’ve moved on, prejudice, homophobic bullying, and the horrible like still exist.

Which is why Holly the “Pride Pud” creator, and the other ladies from York Mind, were at York Pride. And why Angela Slater, her friends Angela and Steven, and I were there, raising awareness about mental health, and “Time to Change“.

Did it rain? Of course it did: this is Britain.

Did I have fun? You bet your Pride Pud, I did.

York: June 2015. Love you still, love you always.

York: June 2015. Love you still, love you always.

 

About Sheila North

I am an author and ex-journalist, who has written novels, short stories, and poems. I also help facilitate a writers' group. Check me out on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sheila-North/
This entry was posted in mental health, Time to Change and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

