A “Who” of My Favourite Things

Gerald C Dalek and me reading the first issue of the "Doncopolitan"

Gerald C Dalek and me reading the first issue of the “Doncopolitan”

Not all the best things in life are free. Even love comes at a cost: not necessarily financial. As for the next best thing, here in the UK at least, you need a license.

Yep, it’s that time of year: time to dust down your sonic screwdrivers, break out your long, multi-colour scarves, and clear your Saturday evenings for the next three months. The Good Doctor, in his current incarnation of Peter Capaldi, is back on the box in less than 48 hours.

In honour of this momentous occasion in the North household, here’s a list of some of my favourite things, not always in order:

  1. The Beloved. Who’s not a thing, and gets as grumpy as the 12th Doctor if I publish his photo on this blog.
  2. Doctor Who (1)
  3. Writing: I’m seldom happier than when I’m writing, and it’s going well.
  4. Reading: Just finished a Ruth Rendell short story collection, “Blood Lines”. Currently reading “Born to Run” by Christopher McDougall, “Walking Home” by Simon Armitage, and “Stories from the World of Tomorrow”, an anthology of sci fi short stories.
  5. Libraries: Love ’em! I’ll be at my local tomorrow morning, for writers’ group.
Newton, as if imagined by Blake: British Library, 2014

Newton, as if imagined by Blake: British Library, 2014

6. My friends: Other than the Beloved, they are closer, and often dearer, than …
7. My family: great when growing up, now mostly dead, scattered, and/or not communicating much. Having said that …
8. Our “sons”, and our “daughter”: Several people who spent a lot of time at our house as young adults (20s – 30s).
9. Photography: my good photos are few and far between, and mostly down to luck. This is because for the most part, I don’t know what I’m doing. Not entirely convinced I’d enjoy it more if I did know what I was doing
10. Curry, garlic mushrooms, and eating out: Why is all the best food usually stinky?

Tea and cake at Floristry by Lord Hurst: another of my favourite things

Tea and cake at Floristry by Lord Hurst: another of my favourite things

11. Sweet stuff: Prior to being put on medication, I could eat it with no ill effect on my weight. *Sigh*
12. Cats: including whole kittens, not just their whiskers.

Caught in the act: Sept 2015

Caught in the act: Sept 2015

13. Pet rodents: I still miss my Arthur C Rat, but Charles De Rat is very much part of my life. Yes, this causes conflict with 12. above. Also in conflict with 12. is …
14. Birds: Feeding them, watching them, photographing them. It’s relaxing.
15. Art: Mum & Dad did a great job of making me think that visiting to museums and other places filled with art is a good, good thing. Marrying a man who also likes museums simply reinforced this.

Statue of Pan: Chatsworth gardens, Sept 2015

Statue of Pan: Chatsworth gardens, Sept 2015

16. Nature: I need to spend more time around trees. Also, the sea.
17. Music: I have fairly eclectic tastes. Which some would argue means I have no taste.
18. Tea: Mom had this weird idea that kids shouldn’t do a lot of things before they were 13, including drink caffeine. This may be why cola and I have a largely “meh” relationship, whilst the smell off coffee put me off as a child.

But tea, glorious tea! Yes, in the North it generally means the evening meal, but in this instance I mean the glorious hot caffeinated beverage that is made of leaves, and has kept me warm, and awake, since I got hooked on it around 20 years ago.

Speaking of which, fancy a cuppa? I know I do.

Teapot selfie, Beverley: Sept 2015

Teapot selfie, Beverley: Sept 2015

(1) This shocked you, I’m sure.

 

 

About Sheila North

I am an author and ex-journalist, who has written novels, short stories, and poems. I also help facilitate a writers' group. Check me out on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sheila-North/
This entry was posted in Doctor Who, List and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

