Never Too Old to Bop & Roll

Trees do sway to the rhythm of the day: Doncaster, 2015/16

Trees do sway to the rhythm of the day: Doncaster, 2015/16

 

Warnings: Potential intense cheerfulness, hopefully sans hypomania; brief mention of suicidal feelings; tiny bit of swearing.

In a previous blog – “The All Singing, All Dancing Post-Surgery Blog“- I forgot to include this: (17) Do not bop, boogie, dance, or even sway to music if your surgery was a week ago or so. You will regret it.

But it’s a fortnight on now, and I can sway, I can bop, hip hooray, hip hooray! I’ve just been bopping to this. If I’m well enough to get out of bed, & look at YouTube, it’s a great one to get me smiling, & swaying. Thanks, Mr Gabriel. Much appreciated.

This particular video (1) has everything for me, at least right now: energy, beauty, and a chap who’s possibly even older than me (2)  having fun, & being daft.

Let’s hear it for daft old folk! Let’s celebrate life, love, music, and yes, damnit, getting older. Because I’ve wanted to die so, so many times – cheers, bipolar disorder, for years of off & on suicidal thoughts – but just now, damnit, I want to live!

Grab your things, & boogie, all you good people, & yes, us inbetweeny types. I’m home, and fuckit, I’m so glad.

Have a beautiful bop, folks. If you’re reading this because you saw the tag “bipolar”, & you’re in the sub-sub-basement of despair, I hope you find the stairs, & the door at the top, soon. If you can peel yourself out of bed, or unstick yourself from the sofa, I hope there’s a tune out there which you love, & that you have the facilities – including earphones – to blast that sucker out, & bop, & lift the darkness, if only for awhile.

Warning, it’s inner hippy time: If you’re stuck for a tune, & Solsbury Hill doesn’t do it for you, try this one. Good luck, & gods bless. x

Lovely Leeds, so full of happy memories. Photo taken 2015

Lovely Leeds, so full of happy memories. Photo taken 2015

(1) Or whatever you youngsters call videos, now.
(2) He is older than me. Phew, wotta relief.

About Sheila North

I am an author and ex-journalist, who has written novels, short stories, and poems. I also help facilitate a writers' group. Check me out on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sheila-North/
This entry was posted in Bipolar, Cancer, mental health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Never Too Old to Bop & Roll

Leave a Reply

