Like Shakespeare to Horses: a Poetic Blog

Near Mexborough station: June 2016

Near Mexborough station: June 2016

I’m not going to talk about the referendum any more, save to say I’m very glad I’d arranged to walk the “Ted Hughes Trail” with author Linda Jones on Friday. The exercise, scenery, and company helped divert, and relax me.

We took the “Foxy Mex” programme from the “Ted Hughes Poetry Festival 2016” with us, as it includes a copy of the trail. It took us mainly through the town centre streets of Mexborough. Inevitably, this being Mexborough, we climbed some hills. I also took a copy of Hughes’ “The Birthday Letters,” which I’d borrowed from the local library.

After leaving the George & Dragon, where the landlord kindly made us a tea and coffee from his own – versus the pub’s – supply, we came to the canal, and then to these lovely chaps:

Heavy and not so heavy horses: Mexborough, June 2016

Heavy and not so heavy horses: Mexborough, June 2016

Inspired by Hughes’ poem about Sylvia Plath proclaiming Chaucer to cows, I recited some of “Richard II” to the horses. Not a lot, as my memory’s not what it used to be. On the train back home, I wrote this.

Like Shakespeare to Horses

Was this the field
of Ted v horse fame?
Or the one, next to
the one, of many fields?

The horses which clustered
at the shabby, nearly imaginary
fence, social creatures
that they are,
they did not care
whether I urged them
“for God’s sake,
let us sit upon the ground,”
or if I had spoken about
daggers, and candles
going out.

It was all the same to them,
they just liked the attention.

And some might say
that is all that Sylvia
wanted of Ted,

But who the hell knows,
since both of them
are dead?

St John the Baptist Church, Mexborough: part of the Ted Hughes Trail

St John the Baptist Church, Mexborough: part of the Ted Hughes Trail

About Sheila North

I am an author and ex-journalist, who has written novels, short stories, and poems. I also help facilitate a writers' group. Check me out on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sheila-North/
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

